Camogie‎ > ‎


posted 19 Oct 2015, 11:43 by Rosie Twohig   [ updated 19 Oct 2015, 11:44 ]

Once again our Junior team continue to create history for the club as they capture the Junior B County title in a thrilling encounter on Saturday last. In front of a large group of support Banteer defeated Cobh in a clash that was just as exciting as anticipated.

Cobh got off to the better start registering two early points, it wasn’t long before Banteer settled and got themselves on the scoreboard with a point from a placed ball. The work rate to win possession from both teams was huge throughout. With Banteer’s defence clearing intelligent ball, Cobh were finding it difficult to see any way through leaving the score Banteer 0-4 Cobh 0-3 on the half time whistle.

On resumption Banteer found their feet and started to dominate on the attack but it wasn’t until the last ten minutes when Banteer raised the only green flag of the day, they found themselves with a bit of breathing space. The hard work put in at training then started to shine through as Banteer closed out the final ten the stronger. Final Score Banteer 1-09 Cobh 0-5

Shelly Twohig was deservingly awarded player of the game for her outstanding performance at centre field. The County Chairperson Marian McCarthy presented the County cup to the Banteer captain Rosie Twohig who thanked everyone who help out with this team in any way since the team was formed 3 years ago especially to Chairman Donncha Foley, Treasurer Hillary Lyons, who continues to work hard behind the scenes.

Huge credit is due to the team trainers John Howard, Donal Roche, and Angela Murphy, First aid Eileen O Donoghue for the hard work they have put into with the junior team this year and achieving such flawless results.

The club would like to that the large crowd that came to Banteer for the homecoming parade and to Tom O Neill for arranging Newmarket pipe band to lead the junior squad through the village.

Panel Tara Sheehan, Yvonne Coleman, Kate O Donoghue, Elaine O Donovan, Anna Foley Gemma Cashman, Laura Murphy, Rosie Twohig, Shelly Twohig, Lisa Howard, Aine Cott, Eleanor Twohig, Karen O Keeffe, Una Twohig, Lynda Dunlea, Vicky Withers Mary Buckley Lauren McGeough, Aisling O Keeffe, Grace Lane Sarah O Reilly, Aoife Leader Imelda Vaughan, Olivia Roche, Denise Fallon, Mairead Weathers, Maire McAuliffe.