News‎ > ‎

A great night in Banteer with our Sponsors and Players of the Year!

posted 12 Mar 2017, 12:37 by Fergus Murphy
                Friday night the club hosted our sponsors for 2017 and presented our player of the year awards for both hurling and football for 2015 and 2016 in the White Country Inn, Banteer. The event was well attended by club members to show our appreciation for those who support us and who without, the club could not function.

                Kevin Roche, Banteer chairman opened the event  welcoming the sponsors, players and club members. He thanked the club's sponsors for 2017; Patrick Buckley, EPS; Connie Tarrant; Tarrant's, Banteer; Finbarr Courtney, White Country Inn; Cathal McHugh; McHugh Insulation. Each sponsor presented their contributions to the board members of the clubs. The sponsors spoke briefly wishing the club the best of luck in both codes for the year. Tommy Mannix spoke, marking respect to former Lyre chairman Pat Murphy, remembering him fondly.

                Player of the year awards for 2015 and 2016 were presented in both codes; For 2015 the Kevin Mannix memorial shield for footballer of the year was awarded to David Murphy. The Teddy Fitzgerald memorial shield for hurler of the year 2015 was awarded to Tadhgh Sexton. For 2016 the award for footballer of the year went to Damian Kearney. The 2016 hurler of the year was awarded to Kevin Tarrant.

                Once again, the club wishes to thank the sponsors for their help both in the past, and for the year to come!