Match Reports‎ > ‎

Banteer Reach Duhallow Final 2012

posted 19 Aug 2012, 09:54 by Denis Withers

Banteer Reach Decider:

Banteer’s Junior Hurlers reached their first Duhallow hurling final since 2009 on Thursday last the 16th of August. Having won the league in 2011 and retained it earlier this year, it comes as no surprise to the followers of the EPS Bison Duhallow JAHC that Banteer reach the decider to be played against long standing rivals Kilbrin on September 8th.

What turned out to be a facile victory over Millstreet in the end began as a tight, close knit affair in a rainy night on an outstanding sod in Meelin. Banteer went down two points before they could respond with a well taken David Murphy point. Both defences were tested greatly, none more so than when Millstreet were denied a goal, the ruling from the referee being that there was a player in the square prior to the sliothar. Not long after this Millstreet were awarded a penalty, which was duly saved by full back Brendan Weathers and a dogged Banteer defense dealt with the resulting break and began to get on top of the Millstreet attack. Up front, Banteer’s attacking prowess shone on a bleak night as the full forward line of Danny Buckley, Denis Roche and Eamon O Flynn created havoc for the Milstreet back three. Banteers middle eight also got on top in the latter period of the first half as Kevin Tarrant displayed some fine fielding and the movement and pace of David Murphy, David McAuliffe and Paul Cremin ensured Banteer headed for the dressing rooms ahead by two points and the half whistle on a scoreline of 8 points to 6.

The second half was the real indicator of the difference between the sides. Banteer delivered a powerful display to blitz Millstreet, picking off their scores nicely. Tempers flared halfway through when a Millstreet midfielder was red carded for an off the ball incident. This only helped Banteer’s case as David Murphy, Danny Buckley, Eamon O Flynn, David Mcauliffe, Damien Kearney and Kevin Tarrant all got on the scoresheet. Banteer’s rear guard equally deserves praise as the half back line of James Twohig, Denis Mannix and Sean Twomey really dominated the game. With the full back line of Brian O Keefe, Brendan Weathers and Colman Mannix not giving an inch and custodian Kevin Roche controlling matters Banteer cruised to victory on a scoreline of 1-15 to 7 points. Setting up a final that is sure to be a cracking game of hurling!


Team: K. Roche, C. Mannix, B. Weathers, B. O Keefe, D. Kearney, D. Mannix, J. Twohig, S. Twomey, D. McAuliffe, K. Tarrant, P. Cremin, D. Murphy, D. Buckley, D. Roche, E. O Flynn

Subs: C. O Keefe, J. Sexton, C. Murphy