Match Reports‎ > ‎

Lyre advance to Championship Final

posted 27 Aug 2013, 10:31 by Unknown user

Lyre 1-09 Boherbue 0-08


Lyre booked their place in the divisional final for the first time since 2010 with a hard earned victory over Boherbue last Sunday evening. Lyre got off to a terrific start with Denis Roche bagging the games only goal early in the first half. Although Boherbue responded points to Roche, Brian O Driscoll and Brian O Keeffe saw Lyre maintain their advantage. With the Lyre defence holding firm they we ahead 1 04 to 2 points at the break.

Boherbue started the brighter in the second half to cut the deficit before O Driscoll landed a brace of timely frees to stretch the Lyre advantage again. Boherbue kept plugging away for a goal to reignite their charge but were denied by two superb saves by the Lyre goalkeeper. With the Lyre midfield becoming more dominant further scores to David and Sean Murphy saw Lyre close out the game and book their place in the final.