Match Reports‎ > ‎

Lyre win Duhallow Football Final in style

posted 10 Oct 2013, 14:16 by Unknown user

Lyre captured their second championship in 4 years after a two point win over Cullen last Sunday. Lyre's first half display laid the foundation for victory as they lead 8 points to 1 at the break. Lyre opened the scoring thanks to a Brian O Driscoll free. This was followed by points to David and Timmie Murphy before O Driscoll added another free. Stephen Mannix added another Lyre score to leave the score five points to no score after 15 minutes. With Lyre dominating man of the match Brendan Withers strode forward for an outstanding score. Further scores to Timmie Murphy and Kevin Tarrant stretched the Lyre lead before a late Cullen free narrowed the margin at the interval.

Cullen started the brighter with the first two points of the second half before David Murphy responded for Lyre before Cullen responded again. Again Lyre responded through Sean Murphy and Martin Kearney points to lead 11 points to 4 with ten minutes remaining. Further Lyre scores through Denis Roche and David Pallas extended the Lyre lead further. However a Cullen goal narrowed the lead before another Cullen point started to play on the Lyre nerves. Then deep in injury time a second Cullen goal cut the lead to 2 points. However the Lyre defence held firm to see out the victory and spark scenes of joy. Team captain John McSweeney accepted the cup from Richard Murphy Chairman of the Duhallow Board.